Global Food Security Association for Young Scientists

The world is undergoing profound changes and facing severe challenges. In recent years, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, climate disasters, regional conflicts and violence, the global economy is confronted with the greatest challenges in decades. Global food security and nutrition status are deteriorating. Governments, scientists, and international institutes around the world are working together to provide innovative strategies to address emerging and potential challenges. The young generation plays an important role in the governance of current global affairs and will also be the future decision-makers in global affairs. Young scientists are an important force in continuing to promote global dialogue and multilateral cooperation and are the most active and innovative force in tackling global food and inequality issues.

Young Scientists Association of Global Food Security is established to connect young scientists around the world, working in the fields of food security such as climate change, agricultural systems, agricultural technologies, food production, agricultural trade and markets, and food consumption. The association is committed to providing an international platform to encourage young scientists to communicate, exchange ideas, and give voice to the world.

Funder Institutes

  • Huazhong Agricultural University (HZAU)
  • International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)
  • International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT)
  • Leibniz Institute of Agricultural Development in Transition Economies (IAMO)

Advisory Board
Prof. Zhaohu Li (Huazhong Agricultural University)
Prof. Qing Ping (Huazhong Agricultural University)
Dr. Bram Govaerts (International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center)
Prof. Thomas Glauben (Leibniz Institute of Agricultural Development in Transition Economies)
Prof. Channing Ardnt (International Food Policy Research Institute)
Prof. Shenggen Fan (China Agricultural University)
Prof. Guoqiang Cheng (Renmin University of China)
Prof. Jing Zhu (Nanjing Agricultural University)
Dr. Liangzhi You (International Food Policy Research Institute)
Prof. Xiaohua Yu (University of Goettingen)
Prof. Shaobing Peng (Huazhong Agricultural University)

President: Prof. Xiaoyun Li
Presidium: Prof. Gucheng Li, Dr. Derek Headey, Dr. Awais Rasheed, Dr. Zhanli Sun
Secretariat: Prof. Hang Xiong, Dr. Xuecai Zhang, Dr. Lena Kuhn, Prof. Shi Min, Prof. Jian Li, Dr. Zhuang Hao, Prof. Xu Tian, Prof. Yanjun Ren, Dr. Xiaoxi Wang, Dr. Tianxiang Li
Secretary-general: Prof. Hang Xiong

Constitution of the Association

This article was last updated on days ago, and the information described in the article may have changed.